What is a DUI in Phoenix?

DUI is the acronym that most states use for “Driving Under the Influence”. But what actually is a DUI? If someone is found to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08% — which is the legal limit in Arizona.

If you have been arrested or charged with a DUI in Phoenix, it is important to remember NOT to talk to police or investigators before talking to a lawyer. No matter what situation you may find yourself in, we can help. Whether you are facing DUI charges or any other criminal charges, Future First Criminal Law has the experience necessary to help you fight for your rights.

 

WHAT IS A DUI? A PHOENIX DUI ATTORNEY HAS THE ANSWERS

If you are facing DUI charges in Phoenix or the surrounding area, one of the first questions you may be asking yourself is whether or not you should hire an attorney. The short answer is yes — you should at least speak with a DUI lawyer as soon as you possibly can. Hiring an attorney is a right that is granted to us by the United States Constitution, and is a right that anyone being charged with a crime should take advantage of.

An experienced Phoenix, Arizona DUI lawyer will be able to take a look at the charges against you and explain them in a way that actually makes sense. They will explain exactly what a DUI is, and exactly what your charges could mean if you are convicted.

If you find yourself charged and convicted of DUI, it will have a long-lasting impact on your life and your future. It could impact your relationships, your job, your ability to drive, and ultimately your freedom. Working with an attorney on your DUI case will help give you the best possible chance at lessening this impact on your life.

 

What is a DUI? Here are the potential penalties in Phoenix:

Standard DUI (BAC higher than .08%)

1st Offense

  • Jail Time: 24 hours to 10 days
  • License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year
  • Penalties and Fines: At least $250
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

2nd Offense

  • Jail Time: 30 to 90 days
  • License Suspension: 90 days to 1 year
  • Penalties and Fines: At least $500
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

3rd Offense

  • Jail Time: At least 4 months
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Penalties and Fines: At least $750
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

Extreme DUI (BAC higher than .15%)

1st Offense

  • Jail Time: 30 days
  • License Suspension: 90 days
  • Penalties and Fines: Upwards of $2,780
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

2nd Offense

  • Jail Time: 120 days
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Penalties and Fines: Upwards of $3,740
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

Super Extreme DUI (BAC higher than .20%)

1st Offense

  • Jail Time: 45 days
  • License Suspension: 90 days
  • Penalties and Fines: Upwards of $3,240
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

2nd Offense

  • Jail Time: 180 days
  • License Suspension: 1 year
  • Penalties and Fines: Upwards of $4,650
  • Interlock ignition device mandatory

 

SHOULD I HIRE A PHOENIX DUI ATTORNEY?

If you are facing DUI charges in Phoenix, it is always in your best interest to at least speak with an experienced DUI lawyer in regards to your options before speaking with prosecutors or making a plea deal. Contacting a Phoenix DUI Attorney right away will help give you the best possible chance of a favorable outcome.

If you think there was a possibility that your rights were violated in the process of your DUI arrest, or even if you just need someone to give you an honest assessment of your case and what you can expect from your charges, give us a call — we’re here to help.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

Do you go to jail for a DUI in Arizona?

In Arizona, jail time is mandatory for a DUI conviction, even if it was a first offense. The length of time someone will have to spend in jail will depend on their BAC at the time of arrest, as well as whether they have had any previous DUI convictions. For a first-time standard DUI, the minimum mandatory jail time is 24 hours.

Does a DUI ruin your life?

A DUI does not have to ruin your life. While the prospect of having a criminal record is scary, it is not the end of the line. Hiring an experienced attorney after being charged with DUI will give you the best possible chance at a favorable outcome in your case, meaning you can start to work on getting your life back to normal as soon as possible.

Is a DUI in Arizona a felony or misdemeanor?

In Arizona, the majority of DUI charges are misdemeanors, but it is still possible to get felony charges. In order for a DUI to be a felony, there needs to be one or more aggravating circumstances. Some of the circumstances that could cause a DUI to be a felony are:

  • Two or more previous DUI convictions in the past seven years
  • The presence of a minor passenger
  • The driver has a suspended license
  • Injury or death caused by the intoxicated driver

 

PHOENIX CRIMINAL & DUI ATTORNEY NEAR YOU

Future First Criminal Law is a top-rated Phoenix law firm with a practice dedicated to DUI and Criminal Defense. We represent clients all throughout the Phoenix area.

If you have been charged with DUI or any other criminal charges, you need an attorney who will fight for your rights.

It’s understandable that you want to get this behind you, but don’t make the mistake of defending yourself or even pleading guilty to the charges. A DUI conviction will have long-lasting consequences, and you need to be aware of what they will be before making any decisions. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation and to discuss your case.